When Sportspersons Turned Leaders/Politicians

Imran Khan

The Pakistani cricketer founded the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI). He has been elected to the National Assembly and his party formed a majority in Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa in the 2013 elections. On August 18, 2018, the Pakistani all-rounder become the Prime Minister of Pakistan.

Image result for manny pacquiao

(Source: Google Images)


Filipino boxer Manny Pacquiao has won world titles in eight different weight classes and is one of the world’s highest-paid athletes.  In June 2016, Pacquiao was elected as a senator and is currently serving a six-year term until 2022, he also run as congressman twice in two different elections since 2007.

Image result for navjot singh

(Source: Google Images)

Navjot Singh Sidhu

From one of the super talented batsman of the Indian Cricket Team and the cleanest hitters of the cricket ball , From cricketer to reality show judge and now a two-time BJP MP from Amritsar, Sherry’s present relationship with the party is on the uproarious side.

Image result for mansoor ali khan pataudi

Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi

The best cricket captain India has ever had, he is a.k.a Tiger Pataudi ,had  The first time was when Indira Gandhi abolished the privy purse. Tiger fought the 1971 general elections from Gurugram on a Vishal Haryana Party ticket.  He lost. Then in 1991 he stood from Bhopal on a Congress ticket, only to get trounced once again.

Image result for rajvinder singh rathore

Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore

The most successful Indian athlete, who made the transition from sport to politics. He was a double-trap shooter, who won India’s only medal at the 2004 Olympics by securing the silver medal. Colonel Rathore has secured seven international gold medals in his shooting career. Rathore joined the BJP, after taking voluntary retirement from the army.

Image result for sanath jayasuriya

Sanath Jayasuriya

The Sri Lankan cricket legend who make a comeback after taking retirement form the International Cricket ran for public office at the 2010 Sri Lankan general elections and was elected to the parliament from his native Matara District. Jayasuriya did not contest for the 2015 Sri Lankan general election, though he won most votes from Matara district under UPFA in the 2010 Sri Lankan general election. The Sri Lankan batting legend served as a deputy local government and rural development minister for a period of 16 days.

#politicians #leaders #president #pakistan #indiannews #srilanka #boxer #cricketers #athlete #ministers #primeminister